Liverpool History Society Questions

A selection of Liverpool history questions submitted to the Liverpool History Society

Ray and Miles Cabinet Makers


I am interested in finding some information on Ray & Miles Cabinet
Makers located in Liverpool through I believe the mid to late 19th
century. We have a pair of ball room chairs and wondered if we could
obtain any information to their history and value. We are considering
donating them to a local charity in Niagara on the Lake Ontario. I
know this is a long shot but if you may have any information it would
be greatly appreciated.

Bruce and Jeanette Murdoch

Arbourview Bed & Breakfast
arbourview@arbourview.com

13/07/2009 - Posted by | Ray and Miles Cabinet Makers

6 Comments »

  1. Hi. Greetings. This post is really good and blog is really interesting. It gives good details.
    cabinet makers

    Comment by Victoryperfect | 26/08/2010 | Reply

  2. Ray & Miles had a shop in London Road, just past where the Odeon used to be. I inherited a very nice dining room suite (table, 4 chairs & sideboard) that was bought new by my late aunt probably about 1936. My daughter now has it in her house. It is dark oak, arts & crafts style with heavy iron drawer handles and linenfold panels on the sideboard doors. It has Ray & Miles label inside the sideboard door.
    Becca

    Comment by Anonymous | 02/12/2010 | Reply

  3. I have a Ray and Miles sideboard in heavy dark oak with 3 compartments with arches on the doors. the model no is 2301. Elsewhere on the cupboard is a label saying Ercol. I am also trying to find out about its history and would be grateful if anyone has any information.

    Comment by trysore | 05/02/2011 | Reply

  4. I have a carver chair made by Ray and Miles, circa 1920, a copy of a Victorian style. Original seat was made of rexene, but has since been replaced with a leather covering. Back is made of woven basket work. It was part of a set of six dining room chairs owned by my great aunt and uncle, but the other chairs have gone elsewhere. It was one of the other chairs that had the Ray and Miles label on it, which is why I know who made it. My great uncle bought them all in an auction in West Kirby circa 1962. I well remember seeing the Ray and Miles sign on the premises in London Road. The sign was there until the early 1970s, but I don’t know if the company was still trading by that time.

    Comment by Paul Lockwood | 23/03/2011 | Reply

  5. I have 6 Ray and Miles chairs from Liverpool and wonder what they might be worth now. They are oak with barley twist and cane backs. I have had them for about 30 years and were told they were old when I bought them. Any thoughts on my chairs?

    Comment by Jane Quirk | 21/07/2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

