Liverpool History Society Questions

A selection of Liverpool history questions submitted to the Liverpool History Society

Malone Paper Company


Dear Webmaster
I recently visited Liverpool in order to trace birth relatives and in particular was trying to trace a lady called Dorothy Malone. I used to visit her at her company which was located in a street off Church Street (heading towards Central Station, the street would have been on the right). The street and the buildings on it appear to have been demolished as it is now a pedestrianised area with new retail outlets etc.
I believe that she owned a paper company and her offices were on the first floor of the building. It may have been called the Malone Paper Company. I have contacted company records in London but without the full name and address of the company, they have been unable to help.
Could you let me know if a map exists of the roads around Church Street in the fiftees/early sixtees. Also, are there any records kept in Liverpool of companies that existed in the Church Street area at that time that may help me to locate the exact name of the company.
Thank you very much for your help.
Regards
Pat newland
19/02/2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized |

4 Comments »

  1. Hello,
    I cannot recall any demolitions on the right of Churh Street but there have been some on Lord Street (Liverpool One development). Do you mean this street?

    Rob Ainsworth
    Liverpool History Society

    Comment by Liverpool History Society Questions | 19/02/2011 | Reply

  2. “Malone Paper Co”

    The correct name was W.F. Malone & Co Ltd. They were based in School Lane, between The Bluecoat and Paradise Street. I remember that you went downstairs to order paper but they may have occupied the whole building. Mrs Malone was in charge. I lost touch in 1966 so have no idea if they moved elsewhere.

    Hope this may be of some interest and apologise for my unprofessional contact with you.

    John Carruthers

    Comment by John Carruthers | 25/02/2011 | Reply

    • Dear Mr Carruthers

      You very kindly gave me some information about the Malone Paper Company which was extremely useful as it confirmed my memory of its location when I visited Dorothy Malone, my aunt, as a child. From the research I have done, it appears that Dorothy died in 1967 but the company was not dissolved until 1977 I believe. It would also appear that the company was started by Dorothy’s husband, William. I am trying to find out who else worked there with Dorothy and in particular a male relative of hers whose surname may well have also been Malone. Any further information you may have would be much appreciated. Thank you for your help. Kind regards Pat

      Comment by Pat Newland | 18/04/2011 | Reply

  3. Dear Mr Carruthers. Thank you so much for your reply. I have only just managed to track down your response. This is the first concrete information I have been able to obtain about the Malone Paper Company. I used to visit my aunt, Mrs Malone, there a couple of times a year. Do you have any more information about the company and other people who worked there? Thank you for your help. Pat Newland

    Comment by Pat Newland | 26/03/2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

