Liverpool History Society Questions

A selection of Liverpool history questions submitted to the Liverpool History Society


Hi Rob

I have been ‘Googling’ information for 144a Brownlow Hill in Liverpool which is where my Nan was born in 1925. I was just wondering if you could tell me if the Workhouse had become a Maternity Hospital by this time? Also, someone on the ‘webchat page’ I was reading has mentioned that you/your group has an aerial photo of the Workhouse? Are there any other photos in existence and would it be possible to forward me a copy of this photo by e-mail so that I could show my Nan where she was born. My Nan and Grandad have been to Liverpool many times to retrace my Nan’s early years. My nan has walked Brownlow Hill and was sad to find 144a was not there.

If you could help me you would make my Nan so happy.

I look forward to hearing from you, hopefully.

Many Thanks for your time.

Jo Small (Mrs)

15/05/2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. Hello Jo,

    The Liverpool Workhouse became maternity hospital as did Mill Road workhouse under the West Derby local area Board. Before the days of the NHS the old Workhouses were converted into hospitals Liverpool Workhouse, c. 1930. occupied the site of the 20th century built Liverpool Metropolitan Cathedral. Mount Pleasant. Opened in 1771, the population of the workhouse expanded until in 1910 there were 5,000 inhabitants. The site was sold to the Catholic Church in 1930.

    Please see the attached photographs.

    Regards

    Rob Ainsworth

    Web Administrator
    Liverpool History Society

    Comment by Liverpool History Society Questions | 15/05/2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

